Instant Hostels
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  4.2

"Good Value For Your Money"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Eva L. of Boston, United States
Reviewed:   December 13, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was very good. The staff were friendly and helped with my questions, and always had a friendly Hi. The location is also very convenient to all paces to visit. Its in the Chungking Mansion. We had a shared bathroom, a really nice hot shower and they provided clean towels everyday. We really enjoyed our time here and it felt very homely and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and suggest to all my family & friends who plan to travel to Hong Kong to do the same.

"Great hostel for my first experience traveling solo"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   M C. of Pasadena, CA, United States
Reviewed:   July 21, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2012     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was a bit apprehensive about staying here because of the mixed reviews I'd seen online about Chungking Mansion. Maybe because I had such low expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised by what I found. I would say that this is a really great value for what you are getting, which is a clean, safe, conveniently located place to sleep.

I booked a single room with shared bathroom. The room I got was pretty small, but really all I needed. It was a wider than my twin size bed and almost as long as 2 beds. While this certainly wouldn't make a great hang out place, i think it serves the purpose of providing you with a comfortable place to sleep just fine. The room comes with a little TV (not that I ever turned it on), ethernet cord, a desk, a night stand and a ceiling fan, andn AC. They even provide you shower slippers (although I never used them because I brought my own).

The rooms are very clean. It is obvious they were recently remodeled. The floor is tile so it feels pretty nice. The bathrooms are probably the only slightly uncomfortable part. The shower is in the same joined room as the toilet and there isn't a current or anything separating it. It is a little cramped but definitely manageable.

I found this place to be very safe. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. They actually come in and clean your room, change your towel, empty your trash every day, which i think is a bit excessive but nice. I left my laptop, wallet, and passport here during the day and nothing got tampered with. People would have to walk by the front desk to get to my room so I find it pretty safe.

So safety of the building as a while is probably the biggest concern. I would warn that if you are made uncomfortable being around people who are not white or Chinese, don't stay here. The first floor of this building is filled with shops that are primarily owned by people from India. Also, a large number of the tenants look like they are from countries in Africa. I didn't talk to any of them so I don't know. In terms of the shops though, I found them to actually be very convenient. I was able to buy a sim card here for half the price they were asking at the airport. Also the exchange rate here was $1:7.735 HKD while the airport was something like 7.20. The people here are really friendly and helpful if you give them a chance. Just be ready for people to talk to you and try to see if you are interested in buying stuff from them. But in my mind these are just hard working people who are trying to make a living. There are A LOT of men here, but as a solo female traveler I never found it to be an issue. I once had a shop keeper wave/smile at me but that was it. Do keep in mind that you have to wait in line to ride the elevator. It wasn't a huge issue. It never took me more than 5 minutes of waiting. The elevators are small and cramped, but they feel pretty safe because there is a guy running them at the bottom and he has monitors that allow him to see what is going on inside the elevator.

The location of chungking mansions is really great. It is literally right next to a mtr station. You spend more time walking inside the station than it takes you to walk from the mansions to the station. Also, nathan road is just a busy, exciting road that has a lot going on. Tons of convenient interesting things to do within walking distance. I almost feel like the 3 day pass I bought for the MTR was a waste because I was able to walk so much of the time.

Anyways, I was very happy with my experience here. If I am still a poor student the next time I am back in Hong Kong, I will definitely stay with Apple again.

"Nice Clean Place..."

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Stephen G. of Connecticut, United States
Reviewed:   May 3, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The place have a good location a few steps away from MTR and bus station. Our room is very clean. Hot shower anytime of the day. We arrived in the middle of the night but Raymond is there to help us. Thanks for him and Hazel (Filipina worker in the hostel). We really enjoyed our stay here. For additional help about the place ask Hazel for direction about tourist spot just walking distance from the hostel.

"Good"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Sriyono S. of Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed:   May 4, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location, friendly staff and the room is clean. Fow who travelling all day and only need hostel for sleeping, it's really recommended!

"Apple Hostel"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Millicent T. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   September 28, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A very friendly, convenient, and safe place to stay.

"about apple hostel"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Dr.CHANDAN KUMAR D. of CHENNAI, India
Reviewed:   April 18, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
it was very good. but the room was small but managable. staffs are very good hospitable, the rooms are also clean, i prefer this hostel if i come to hong kong next.


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




InstantHostels Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us